Exemption List

With entries for the 116th U.S. Open Championship having closed on April 27, here are the 75 golfers who are currently exempt from qualifying, with their exemption categories listed. (Note: golfers can still become exempt to the championship by winning The Players Championship; the European Tour’s BMW PGA Championship, or being among the top 60 point leaders and ties in the Official World Golf Rankings on May 23 or, if not previously exempt, June 13)

PlayerExemption Category
Byeong-Hun An13
Kiradech Aphibarnrat13
Derek Bard (a)2
Daniel Berger12,13
Steven Bowditch12
Keegan Bradley7
Angel Cabrera1
Rafael Cabrera Bello13
Paul Casey12,13
Kevin Chappell13
Jason Day7,8,11,12,13
Jamie Donaldson13
Jason Dufner7
Ernie Els6
Harris English12
Matthew Fitzpatrick13
Rickie Fowler8,12,13
Jim Furyk12,13
Sergio Garcia13
Lucas Glover1
Retief Goosen15
Branden Grace11,13
Emiliano Grillo13
Bill Haas12,13
James Hahn13
Charley Hoffman12,13
J.B. Holmes12,13
Billy Horschel13
Dustin Johnson11,12,13
Zach Johnson6,12,13
Smylie Kaufman13
Martin Kaymer1,8,13
K.T. Kim13
Chris Kirk13
Kevin Kisner12,13
Patton Kizzire13
Soren Kjeldsen13
Russell Knox13
Brooks Koepka12,13
Matt Kuchar12,13
Anirban Lahiri13
Danny Lee12,13
Marc Leishman13
David Lingmerth13
Shane Lowry11,13
Jeff Maggert10
Hideki Matsuyama12,13
Graeme McDowell1
Rory McIlroy1,6,7,11,12,13
Phil Mickelson6,13
Ryan Moore13
Kevin Na12,13
Geoff Ogilvy1
Louis Oosthuizen11,12,13
Scott Piercy12,13
Jon Rahm (a)4
Patrick Reed12,13
Justin Rose1,12,13
Charl Schwartzel11,13
Adam Scott5,11,13
Webb Simpson1
Cameron Smith11
Brandt Snedeker11,12,13
Jordan Spieth1,5,11,12,13
Henrik Stenson12,13
Robert Streb12
Andy Sullivan13
Justin Thomas13
Jaco Van Zyl13
Jimmy Walker12,13
Bubba Watson5,12,13
Lee Westwood13
Bernd Wiesberger13
Danny Willett5,13
Chris Wood9,13
(a) - Amateur
Bold - U.S. Open Champion

Key to Player Exemptions

1) Winners of the U.S. Open Championship the last 10 years.

2) Winner and runner-up of the 2015 U.S. Amateur Championship (must still be an amateur).

3) Winner of the 2015 Amateur Championship conducted by The R&A (must still be an amateur).

4) Winner of the 2015 Mark H. McCormack Medal (must still be an amateur).

5) Winners of the Masters Tournament the last five years.

6) Winners of The Open Championship conducted by The R&A the last five years.

7) Winners of the PGA of America Championship the last five years.

8) Winners of the Players Championship the last three years.

9) Winner of the 2016 European Tour BMW PGA Championship.

10) Winner of the 2015 U.S. Senior Open Championship.

11) From the 2015 U.S. Open Championship, the 10 lowest scores and anyone tying for 10th place.

12) Those players qualifying for the season-ending 2015 Tour Championship.

13) From the Official World Golf Rankings, the top 60 point leaders and ties as of May 23, 2016. Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry.

14) From the Official World Golf Rankings, the top 60 point leaders and ties as of June 13, 2016. Players must select a qualifying site at the time of entry.

15) Special exemptions as selected by the USGA.